intercom intercom

Categories:

k:.

Ali Farka Toure With Ry Cooder Talking Timbuktu


Sunday 23 June Sunday 29 September See more. Thursday 26 September Best Contemporary World Music Album. Wednesday 12 June Sunday 7 July

In , it was awarded a gold certification from the Independent Music Companies Association which indicated sales of at least , copies throughout Europe. Reviews Review Policy. Flag as inappropriate. See more. Aman Iman: Water Is Life. Unlike many of his recordings which feature large ensembles, it consists of solo Kora throughout. The influences range from traditional Kora pieces to modern Western music.

It was released on the Nonesuch Records label on 2 August Pirates Choice. Orchestra Baobab. Habib Koite. The Source Remastered Version. Savane Remaster. Connect to Spotify Dismiss. Search Search. Dismiss Internet Explorer is no longer supported on Last. Add artwork. Length 10 tracks, Release Date 28 March Talking Timbuktu features him singing in 11 languages and playing acoustic and electric guitar, six-string banjo, njarka, and percussion, while teaming smartly with an all-star cast that includes superstar fusion bassist John Patitucci, session drummer Jim Keltner, longtime roots music great Ry Cooder who doubled as producer , venerable guitarist Gatemouth Brown, and such African percussionists and musicians as H… read more.

Talking Timbuk… read more. Related Tags world african blues mali world music Add tags View all tags. Tracklist Sorted by: Running order Running order Most popular.

Buy Loading. More Love this track. Play album Buy Loading. Scrobble Stats? What is scrobbling? Artist images 6 more. Talking Timbuktu is a groundbreaking record that vividly illustrates the Africa-Blues connection in real time.

Ali Farka Toure, who was one of Mali's leading singer-guitarists, has a trance-like, bluesy style that, although deeply rooted in Malian tradition, bears astonishing similarity to that of John Lee Hooker or even Canned Heat. It's a mono-chordal vamp, with repetitive song lines cut with shards of blistering solo… read more. Talking Timbuktu is a groundbreak… read more. Talking Timbuktu is a groundbreaking record that vividly illustrates the Africa… read more.

Similar Artists Play all. Trending Tracks 1. Play track. Love this track. More Love this track Set track as current obsession Get track Loading. Sunday 21 April Monday 22 April Tuesday 23 April Wednesday 24 April Thursday 25 April Friday 26 April Saturday 27 April Sunday 28 April Monday 29 April Tuesday 30 April Wednesday 1 May Thursday 2 May Friday 3 May Saturday 4 May Sunday 5 May Monday 6 May Tuesday 7 May Wednesday 8 May Thursday 9 May Friday 10 May Saturday 11 May Sunday 12 May Monday 13 May Tuesday 14 May Wednesday 15 May Thursday 16 May Friday 17 May Saturday 18 May Sunday 19 May Wednesday 22 May Thursday 23 May Monday 3 June Tuesday 4 June Wednesday 5 June Thursday 6 June Friday 7 June Saturday 8 June Sunday 9 June Monday 10 June Tuesday 11 June Wednesday 12 June Monday 17 June Tuesday 18 June Toure and Harris also appeared together in Martin Scorsese 's documentary film Feel Like Going Home , [11] which traced the roots of blues back to its genesis in West Africa.

The film was narrated by Harris and features Ali's performances on guitar and njarka. It was received with wide acclaim by professionals and fans alike and has been nominated for a Grammy Award in the category "Best Contemporary World Music Album".

On 6 March , the Ministry of Culture of Mali announced his death at age 66 in Bamako from bone cancer , against which he had been battling for some time. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

Retrieved 17 May March 7,



Top charts. New releases. Talking Timbuktu with Ry Cooder. Add to Wishlist. Listen to this album and millions more. First month free. In , it was awarded a gold certification from the Independent Music Companies Association which indicated sales of at least , copies throughout Europe.

Reviews Review Policy. Flag as inappropriate. See more. Aman Iman: Water Is Life. Unlike many of his recordings which feature large ensembles, it consists of solo Kora throughout. The influences range from traditional Kora pieces to modern Western music.

Monday 6 May Tuesday 7 May Wednesday 8 May Thursday 9 May Friday 10 May Saturday 11 May Sunday 12 May Monday 13 May Tuesday 14 May Wednesday 15 May Thursday 16 May Friday 17 May Saturday 18 May Sunday 19 May Wednesday 22 May Thursday 23 May Monday 3 June Tuesday 4 June Wednesday 5 June Thursday 6 June Friday 7 June Saturday 8 June Sunday 9 June Monday 10 June Tuesday 11 June Wednesday 12 June Monday 17 June Tuesday 18 June Wednesday 19 June Thursday 20 June Saturday 22 June Sunday 23 June Monday 24 June Tuesday 25 June Wednesday 26 June Thursday 27 June Friday 28 June Saturday 29 June Sunday 30 June Monday 1 July Tuesday 2 July Wednesday 3 July Thursday 4 July Friday 5 July Saturday 6 July Sunday 7 July Monday 8 July Tuesday 9 July Wednesday 10 July Friday 12 July Sunday 14 July Monday 15 July Tuesday 16 July Wednesday 17 July Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 July Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Wednesday 24 July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Saturday 27 July Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July It was received with wide acclaim by professionals and fans alike and has been nominated for a Grammy Award in the category "Best Contemporary World Music Album".

On 6 March , the Ministry of Culture of Mali announced his death at age 66 in Bamako from bone cancer , against which he had been battling for some time. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Retrieved 17 May March 7, Rolling Stone.

Retrieved



Musical Youth Pass The Dutchie, Michael Jackson Thriller, The Motherhood Back In The Grass Soul Town, Rhythm Sound w Rod Of Iron Lightning Storm, Arena Knot Up Head, Peter Schickele Silent Running Soundtrack, Charlie Musselwhite Harvey Mandel Barry Goldberg Chicago Anthology, The Cure Fade Away The Early Years Vinyl Box Set, Summoning Dol Guldur, JFD Elsworth James Calypso Music I Wont Last A Day


sitemap
View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Talking Timbuktu on Discogs. Label: Hannibal Records - HNCD • Format: CD Album • Country: US • Genre: Rock, Blues, Folk, World, & Country • Style: Folk, African Ali Farka Toure* with Ry Cooder: Ali Farka Toure* with Ry Cooder - Talking Timbuktu ‎ (CD. I have been listening to this album since its release in ' It is a timeless classic. My previous copies have been on CD and I have listened the album for hundreds, if not thousands, of hours. So over the course of Talking Timbuktu's hour, with the production help of Ry Cooder (I'd say this album is still 95% Ali Farka Toure), Ali Farka pounds out sultry, hypnotic rhythms that extend well over 5-minutes a lot of the time. The percussion sounds like it's being hit off drums filled with sand, and you can practically feel the heavy air.